Home > CPD, teaching > Primary Lessons

Primary Lessons

Today I visited my children’s school to talk to P4 about my job. The class are doing a project on employment, and a number of parents have been invited in to talk about their jobs and demonstrate what they do.

First I was interviewed by the pupils who had a set of prepared questions. They used a ‘spider chart’ to record the answers, and told me they’d also used a questionnaire with another visitor. They have been learning different ways to record information.

After the set questions each group was instructed to make up some questions of their own. The ‘Pen’ group made up 4 questions, the ‘Pencils’ 3 and the ‘Quills’ 2. I then answered another series of questions which ranged from ‘How much do you get paid?’ to ‘Do you like your job?’.

After the interrogation I used PowerPoint to discuss my job. I asked the pupils if they knew where my college was and what courses they thought were available. They guessed correctly that we did beauty therapy courses and engineering, but were disappointed to learn that we didn’t offer courses in race driving or football.

I also took in a number of examples of student work, a video, a computer game, a 3D animation and a cartoon. The children were very excited by this, and were especially keen to know that we did courses in computer games.

By the time we finished it was almost bell-time, and the afternoon seemed to have flown passed. I left the teacher with some worksheets for the pupils so that they could do a follow up lesson sometime in the future. The worksheet had an art quiz (with hints) on one side and a foldable model of a parrot to colour and make.

During my time at the school I saw a number of examples of how the teacher controls such a large class and gets their attention. The teacher used first names a lot to grab the attention of individuals, and to engage the group the teacher performed various actions with her hands that the kids had to copy. This quickly focussed the kids and quietened them down. The teacher also asked the kids to pose in a particular way if they had a question for me – changing the pose after a few questions to keep then on their toes. I quickly got the hang of this and started doing the poses too, to encourage the kids.

I’m going to add this to my CPD log as I learned a lot from working with the class. The teacher did ask me if I’d consider a career change, but I still feel I’m more comfortable working with adults rather than kids. However I really enjoyed the experience and think the kids gained something from it too.

Categories: CPD, teaching
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

