Home > Game Design > Gaming Assessments

Gaming Assessments

Development of the Assessment Support Packs (ASP) for the NPA Computer Games got underway this weekend with a meeting of the development team at SQA in Glasgow.

This development marks a new approach to assessment writing in that each ASP will cover the units at three different levels, i.e. SCQF levels 4,5 and 6. Also, the assessments will be integrated, as assessments for the Design, Media Assets and Development units will follow the process of designing and creating a single game. This will be the first time that an integrated approach has been used in a set of ASPs. This will prove a bit of a challenge for the development team as there are no previous examples to refer to and no standardised templates for creating this type of assessment. Hopefully this will be a successful development and pave the way for more integrated assessments from SQA.

It’s an exciting development and I’m looking forward to the challenge, and also to seeing how the uptake of the new qualifications goes over the forthcoming year.

Read a related article on games qualifications in the Times Education Supplement.

Categories: Game Design
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: