Home > teaching > Up to date…

Up to date…

Keeping skills up to date these days is a real challenge, particularly for those of us at the cutting (bleeding) edge of technology!

This year I’m teaching Actionscript 3.0 exclusively – so no more old Actionscript 1 or 2 in Flash, no more on (release) and no more undeclared variables! Bad enough for me, quite tough for students!

The students often ask me how I know so much about Flash, but I have to say that I sometimes feel like I’m only scratching the surface too. Truth is that I do a lot of practice. A few years ago I was doing Flash every day and learning new and wonderful things. My favourite Flash book is Macromedia Flash Advanced by Russell Chun, which I’ve read cover to cover. However I don’t think there’s a new version for Actionscript 3.0 yet, so all my AS3 knowledge so far has been gathered from web-based tutorials and also Lynda.com (which is great).

Today during the Wednesday afternoon respite period I’ve been trying out some new animation with Flash, including a hula hooper and a squirrel – enjoy!

Categories: teaching
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

